Extension schedules class titled Raised Mattress Gardening for March 27


LUMBERTON – The Lumberton Chamber of Commerce has announced new leaders to its board of directors for 2021.

Maureen Metzger, Public Information Associate at Robeson Community College, will succeed Bryan Britt, owner of Cakes and Pastries of Lumberton, as chairman in 2021. The 2021 Board of Directors will continue to focus on building a positive image for Lumberton and recovering Lumberton’s business community from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Although 2020 was a different year for the chamber, she hopes more stores will open in Lumberton and the chamber will be able to host scheduled events in 2021.

“The chamber only hosted four sections of the band in 2020 and only held two board meetings due to COVID,” said Cindy Kern, managing director of the chamber. “We had to cancel our Christmas parade and our annual golf tournament took place at a later date.”

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve as chairman of the chamber this year,” said Metzger. “I look forward to working with my fellow board members to promote current businesses in Lumberton and encourage new businesses to locate in Lumberton.”

New board members include Suzanne Abbott-Abbott Insurance, LLC, Dr. Phillip Stephens, Carolina Acute Care and Wellness Center; Crystal Collins, Lumbee Guarantee Bank; Bebe Wright; Comfort Inn and Country Inn & Suites; Allen Elks, Postnet; John Hendren, Walmart; Josh Jackson, Edward Jones Investments; Betsy Wilson, UNC Health Southeastern; Donna Davis, Tomlinson Department Store; and Ellie Johnson of the University of North Carolina at Pembroke.

The Lumberton Chamber also announced its new committee chairs. This year serving Suzanne Abbott, Golf Committee; Richard Monroe and Mickey Gregory, the Image Committee; Sarah Campbell, membership; Amy Hall, ambassador; Rhonda Williamson, communications; Miles Mercer, Agriculture; Merle Summers, Education; Cheryl Page, Special Events; Connie Russ Wallwork, Community Development; Angela Sumner, Travel and Tourism; and Bo Biggs, Legislature.

Retired board members include Mickey Gregory, Canal Wood, LLC; Jay Britt, Robeson County Farm Office; Rose Avant, retired; Linda Branch, Storage Solutions, LLC; Myra Norton, GreenState Landscaping; Sarah Campbell, Campbell Ear, Nose and Throat Plastic Surgery; Chelsea Biggs, Biggs Park Mall / Century 21; and Richard Monroe, retired.

The Lumberton Chamber awarded two 2020 Volunteer Awards. The awards went to Suzanne Abbott, Fundraiser of the Year; and Richard Monroe, Community Volunteer of the Year.